Cendrine Browne receives highest honor in Canadian snow sports


The skier was one of the few Canadians who were counted on to lead a new generation of athletes on the national ski team. Browne did it while exuding optimism and positivity as one of the best role models in the sport for young skiers across the country.

Browne has always found time during his own career to work with the next generation of skiers, playing an important role in mentoring young athletes at all levels of the sport and inspiring newcomers to the athlete journey by taking the lead. time to sign autographs, take pictures or talk. future champions.

She also co-created femininity – a program designed to promote the participation and retention of women in sport with the goal of empowering women far beyond the sport community.

She is proud to have shown courage, determination, professionalism and respect to compete under the rules of fair sport while overcoming a series of challenges throughout her career, including a period of depression and multiple concussions. brain injuries sustained as a result of a training accident after making his Olympic debut. in 2018, Browne epitomizes what every Canadian athlete strives for. She is quiet and humble by nature, but a fierce competitor when she puts on a pair of skis at any starting line.

“We have learned of Cendrine’s perseverance and dedication on the playing field, but we are also impressed with her commitment to leading by example while always supporting her teammates,” said Ken Read, Chairman of the Awards Committee. Canadian Winter Sports Association. “Most importantly, Cendrine understands the responsibility of being an Olympian and national team athlete to be a great role model for young women. We can’t think of a better recipient, and she richly deserves this award.

The John Semmelink Award is considered the most prestigious award in snow sports in Canada. Named in honor of John Semmelink, who lost his life in a training accident during a competition in Garmisch, Germany, the prize was first awarded in 1962 to alpine skier Anne Heggtveit-Hamilton .

Browne is in prestigious company as one of six cross-country ski athletes to have received the award. Others include: Alex Harvey (2019); Beckie Scott (2003, 2002); Pierre Harvey (1988, 1987, 1985); and Sharon and Shirley Firth (1972).

Athlete representatives from the Canadian Winter Sports Association’s six Olympic and Paralympic disciplines can nominate a candidate for consideration, with a selection committee selecting the winner.

The 2022 John Semmelink Memorial Award will be presented at the Canadian Ski Museum’s Annual Induction Ceremony in the fall of 2022.

Click here for the news section of NordiqCanada.


Comments are closed.